Home / About / Virginia STEM

Virginia STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) is a state initiative designed to help grow a workforce of STEM capable and competent citizens through effective education. These essential fields form a foundation for many educational and career paths, as well as the foundation of a strong economy. The Science Museum of Virginia is home to the Virginia STEM Coordinator who collaborates with other stakeholders and helps facilitate conversations around Virginia, helping align various excellent STEM programs.

What is Virginia STEM?

In 2018, a STEM Commission was created and culminated in a STEM Education Commission’s Final Report, submitted in September 2020. The Final Report can be downloaded below and an executive summary is available here. The Final Report’s primary recommendation was legislation that would create a more permanent STEM Education Advisory Board to establish a focal point for state STEM and a more unified vision and STEM goals. The General Assembly unanimously passed this legislation (HB2058) in the 2021 General Session.

STEM Education Commission's Report

Work Started by the Board

The initial work of the STEM Education Advisory Board will be to help establish common language around STEM, STEM education and what should be considered a STEM career. This work continues as we consider other state models and perspectives from various stakeholders, including the Virginia Department of Education, Higher Education, businesses and informal education partners.

Virginia STEM Education Advisory Board

  • Chair: Amy Sabarre, Director of STEM Education PK-12 and Science Coordinator PK-5, Harrisonburg City Public Schools
  • Vice-Chair: Casey Roberts, Executive Director, New Horizons Regional Education Centers
  • Staff: Virginia STEM Coordinator, Science Museum of Virginia

Citizen Board Members:

  • Dr. Damodar Ambur
  • Gary Artybridge Jr.
  • Chris Dovi
  • Dr. Venicia Ferrell
  • Casey Roberts (Vice-Chair)
  • Amy Sabarre (Chair)
  • Dr. Padmanabhan Seshaiyer
  • Dr. Susheela Shanta
  • Zaina Tarafdar
  • Amy White

State Board Members:

  • Virginia Department of Education: Dr. Brendon Albon
  • Science Museum of Virginia: Rich Conti
  • State Council of Higher Education for Virginia: Emily Salmon
  • Secretary of Labor Office
  • Secretary of Education Office
  • Chief Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Officer

For additional information, please email [email protected].

2024 Legislative Report
2023 Legislative Report
2022 Legislative Report
Board Meetings and Minutes