PLEASE NOTE: tickets should be purchased in advance.

The Museum is a state-supported agency of the Commonwealth of Virginia. It is part of the Education Secretariat, which provides guidance to seven arts and cultural institutions in addition to Virginia’s public colleges, universities and research centers. 

The Museum receives guidance and generous support from organizations and community leaders. Our Board of Trustees, appointed by the Governor of Virginia, provide oversight and policy guidance. The Science Museum of Virginia Foundation, a non-profit corporation, raises funds to support the Museum’s mission, operations and to meet capital needs.

Leadership Team

Richard Conti
Chief Wonder Officer
rconti@smv.org
804.864.1499

Elizabeth Voelkel
Deputy Director
evoelkel@smv.org
804.864.1511

Charles English
Virginia STEM Coordinator
cenglish@smv.org
804.864.1430

Courtney Moyer
Director, Communications and Curiosity
cmoyer@smv.org
804.864.1544

Timshel Purdum 
Virginia C. Ellett Director of Education
tpurdum@smv.org
804.864.1415 

Brandon Smith
Director, Technology and Innovation
bsmith@smv.org
804.864.1525

Steve Teacher
Director, Facilities and Possibilities
steacher@smv.org
804.864.1469

Kinsey Peeler
Executive Director
Science Museum of Virginia Foundation
kpeeler@smv.org
804.864.1542

Board of Trustees

SMV Membership FAQ DSC02477.jpg

Science Museum of Virginia Foundation Board

SMV Forge (5).jpg