The Science Museum of Virginia is a state-supported agency of the Commonwealth of Virginia. It is part of the Education Secretariat, which provides guidance to seven arts and cultural institutions in addition to Virginia’s public colleges, universities and research centers. 

The Science Museum receives guidance and generous support from organizations and community leaders. Our Board of Trustees, appointed by the Governor of Virginia, provide oversight and policy guidance. The Science Museum of Virginia Foundation, a non-profit corporation, raises funds to support the Science Museum’s mission, operations and to meet capital needs.

Leadership Team

Richard Conti
Chief Wonder Officer
rconti@smv.org
804.864.1499

Ash Harris
Chief Operating Officer
aharris@smv.org
804.864.1436

Courtney Moyer
Communications and Curiosity Director
cmoyer@smv.org
804.864.1544

Timshel Purdum 
Virginia C. Ellett Director of Education
tpurdum@smv.org
804.864.1415 

Brandon Smith
Technology and Innovation Director
bsmith@smv.org
804.864.1525

Steve Teacher
Facilities and Possibilities Director
steacher@smv.org
804.864.1469

Kinsey Peeler
Executive Director
Science Museum of Virginia Foundation
kpeeler@smv.org
804.864.1542

Board of Trustees

Girls performing and experiment with water. and pipets.

Science Museum of Virginia Foundation Board

Digital design wall outside of The Forge.